A 多読 future

People from all over keep asking me “Hey Silent, is there going to be another tadoku??” and when I say people from all over im referring to about 3 people.  But to answer everyone’s question, yes I do plan on having more tadoku contests. When you ask? good question!  I have come up with the following schedule for the next year.

1. January

2. April

3. July

4. October

I think 2 months between contests should give people long enough to recover from the last contest and improve for the next contest. The next blog post will contain the rule changes so stay tuned.

Random note: It took me a month to write this blog post.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kanjiguy
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 01:21:14

    Sounds like fun!

    Reply

  2. veganliz
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 06:27:31

    楽しみにしています, must beat last time’s score! So glad you’ve made more of them official!

    Reply

  3. nacest
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 07:25:07

    Can’t wait!
    If I’m allowed to express my humble opinion, it would be cool to separate the number of pages read with books and those from other sources. The formats and levels of the sources are so different that comparing them feels a little pointless.
    I don’t know if anyone else feels the same, but I thought I’d throw in the idea.

    Reply

    • readmod
      Oct 03, 2010 @ 14:18:11

      Im planning on implementing something that will allow you to specify in what medium you read the pages in so anyone could go in and see a page break down but I think I will still keep the overall score together.

      Reply

  4. nacest
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 04:55:08

    That sounds like a good compromise 😀

    Reply

  5. burritolingus
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 21:12:37

    Sounds positively jawesome. I’ll be making a MUCH better showing in the next 多読 for sure.

    My only problem last time was how awkward it was to make a mental or physical tally of dialogue boxes in RPGs, which sort of distracted my focus from the actual reading. Unfortunately, I don’t really know how to solve that problem. As I mentioned just a moment ago in IRC (SUP GUYS), something like making a rough estimate of pages based on amount of time played would be ideal in theory, but far too unreliable in practice. But whereas you can always flip back and see how many pages you’ve read in a book or manga, for instance, there’s really no way to do so in most traditional JRPGs… so you kinda have to make that tally which is something I never really got used to. Or mebbe I just need to be a MANLY MAN and suck it up.

    Either way, looking forward to the next one!

    Reply

    • readmod
      Oct 08, 2010 @ 15:32:59

      E_dub suggested a time based score keeping with games too but it would reward time spent instead of the amount of reading you did. But I do agree that tallying boxes sucks. Maybe we should ask BlackDragonHunt how he does it so well.

      Reply

  6. Seizar
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 15:14:30

    If you play pc games (or emulated games) you can simply map the key you use to click through dialogue boxes to take a screenshot, and at the end of the session count the number of screenshots in the directory. It’s useful to have another way to go through dialogues tho, in case you need to skip something you have already read (or dialogues such as “あ!”) or make a selection/browse menus or whatever else.

    Reply

  7. 亜眼努[アメド]
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 18:05:37

    Going to join this time around. When will you have the sign up sheet up and running? Sometime in December or something?

    Reply

  8. Harvey
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 21:27:41

    I plan to join this time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

