ReadMOD 2.0 Rules

The rules are mostly the same as last time but with a few differences. These changes will be in bold. (the following are equivalent to 1 page)

  • 1 page in a regular book or novel
  • 5 pages of a manga/comic/graphic novel
  • 1 newspaper article*
  • 1 blog post on the internet
  • 1 webpage*
  • 1 page in a magazine
  • The lyrics of 1 song
  • 5 minutes of subtitles in your L2**
  • 2 pages of a script/play
  • 10 minutes of niconico comment reading***
  • 6 screens in a full-screen game (like Umineko, or Higurashi where the whole screen fills with text) example
  • 11 screens in a regular game where you read from a textbox. (This assuming you are playing a text heavy game. if not count sentences!) example
  • You may also re-read pages for lesser value (half each time) ex: first read 10 pages, second read 5 pages, third read 2.5 pages etc.

If in doubt a 400 characters is usually around ~17 sentences.

Note: SRS reps do not count toward your reading count.

*[A newspaper article or webpage counts as 1 page if it has roughly the 3 paragraphs worth of text, give or take a sentence. If the webpage or news article is unusually long, you may count it as more than a page.]
**[For example, if you’re watching a movie in your L2 that also has subtitles in that language, and you read all of the subs, 5 mins of doing that = 1 page.]
***[For reading comments on a NicoNico video. Obviously not counting “wwwwwwwww.”]

Details regarding the new pagecount updating system will be here soon so be on the look out!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Harvey
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 20:45:54

    I didn’t know what Umineko was… 日本語おたく失格!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention ReadMOD 2.0 Rules « Read More or Die -- Topsy.com
  3. Hotsw4p
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 21:14:31

    ooooo new page count update system! twitter failed me last time…it removed my tweets from the #tadoku hashtag feed halfway through the contest because of some bug in their system 😦 made me a sad panda

    Reply

  4. nacest
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 04:23:30

    Since I’ll be reading a lot from my kindle, I need to know how to count these pages. Here is a typical page:

    To me it look slightly less than a normal 文庫 page, but not much. How about, I dunno, 4 pages every 5? 3 every 4? You have the last word.

    Reply

    • readmod
      Dec 17, 2010 @ 11:03:53

      I have foreseen this problem with e-readers and pages. BlackDragonHunt is working on something and I’ll let you guys know about it when he’s finished with it.

      Reply

    • hotsw4p
      Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:25:48

      I had tried to fix it last contest, but had no real luck (even after submitting multiple requests to the twitter support team). They had told me that it was an issue they were working on… The article you mention was one of the things i had looked at back then…

      The good news though, is that I was successfully able to register for the contest today, so hopefully it will continue to work!

      Thanks for caring 🙂

      Reply

  5. Trackback: Preparing for 多読 (or, I should say 多讀) « En Route To Fluency
  6. Trackback: Preparing for ReadMOD « En Route To Fluency
  7. Crystal
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 13:34:42

    Hello…I’m just starting to realize all of the on-line sources for reading Japanese (had to look up NicoNico). Can someone tell me, though, what is L2? Thanks in advance.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Tadoku! « un autodidact
  9. Hyrulehippie
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 08:48:02

    I finally joined twitter so I could join 多読 this time around!..but that means that I have no clue what I’m doing!

    I’ve been watching a lot of gameplay videos on ニコニコ動画 lately. If the person playing reads all of the text aloud should I count the text as #subs or #game? For really text heavy games, like gyakuten saiban, it would be a lot more pages as #game, but since it’s being read to me there’s no pause when trying to remember a kanji reading or something. It’s less effort and faster than reading by myself, so I feel like it should be worth less…also I’m lazy. 40 minutes of subs is easier to count than 800 text boxes or whatever.

    Also, is there an easy way to count text boxes from games? I imagine I’ll forget to tally sometimes when I get really into it. Are there any special strategies or anything?

    Reply

    • readmod
      Dec 30, 2010 @ 15:25:32

      You shouldn’t count being read to and you can just count gyakuten saiban as a game. As far as textbox counting goes I will post something a little later that should help.

      Reply

  10. Martyna
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 06:08:39

    Question: is the bot adapting the pagecount depending on the tag? I thought I needed to “convert” the numbers first. Aka I read 60 pages of a manga today and thus reported 12. But the update of the Bot is +3 pages… So I actually should have reported 60 pages to the bot? (So for webpages you count yourself the paragraphes and change them into pages, right. And scripts is automatic, too?)
    If I don’t make any sense, it’s beacause I have a fever.

    Reply

  11. Martyna
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 07:28:21

    Okay, I should stay away from Twitter as long as I’m ill. I wanted to add 2 1/3 of a page and the Bot took my 2,33 as 233. I’m really sorry. And worried if you can correct that. I think I just should hide in my bed until the fever has gone away and I can think more clearly.

    I’m really sorry for causing such trouble.

    Reply

    • readmod
      Jan 08, 2011 @ 14:54:57

      Yes the bot does all the math so you dont have to calculate anything. The bot will not read 2,33 as 2 1/3 you have to use a period instead of a comma so 2.33. You can undo previous score updates by using the #undo command. I hope you feel better soon.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

