Update system clarification

I just want to make a few things about the updating procedure clear before the contest begins

  1. Unlike in the previous contest you do not have to do any calculations before you update.
  2. So lets say you read 50 pages of manga, there is no need to calculate how many pages that is just tweet “@TadokuBot 50 #manga”. Same for all the other mediums. Watched 45 minutes of subs? tweet “@TadokuBot 45 #subs”. No math required on your part. Cool right?

  3. No doubling up medium updates
  4. If you read 10 pages of manga and then read 35 pages from a book you can not tweet “@TadokuBot 10 #manga 35 #book”. The bot will interpret this as 1035 pages of manga and 1035 pages from a book (it’s not that smart). So keep your updates separate 🙂

  5. Sentences are for small amounts of text
  6. You know, like definitions and stuff that

If you guys have any more questions please let me know. I’ll try to answer them as clearly as possible.

Edit: Updated the rules post with example pictures of the 2 different types of games

Edit 2: General claification

  • The tadoku competition starts when the clock strikes January 1 2011 your time and ends January 31 2011 23:59:59 your time

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emmie
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 23:28:59

    Hello, I just ran into this site while I was leasuring around the Net and Whoa! It’s too good to be true, but I myself is doing English Tadoku. I’m a native speaker of Japanese and live in the outskirts of Tokyo.
    Actually there are many many language learners doing English Tadoku there days in Japan. I started to wonder if I can join this contest in some ways??? If not being able, then I’ll be happy to share the joy of tadoku whatever the way it is. I’m looking forward to hearing from someone organizing this event with some good news. Thank you!
    はじめまして!私は英語の多読をしているのですが、日本語多読をしているみなさんと、何か楽しめたらいいなと思っています。 

    Reply

  2. emmie
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 03:59:34

    thanks for the quick reply! I’m going to read the rules and everything and see what I can do with all of you to enjoy language learning. I’m just worried that in my case, it’s not Japanese but English I’m reading and learning, so there will be needed some changes to join the contest, I guess. Thank you and enjoy Tadoku!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

