A Poll about the 2012 schedule

Before I begin the signups for the January contest, I would like to ask you guys what kind of schedule you would like to see this year? Some participants were suggesting we have shorter and more numerous rounds while others suggested keeping month long rounds and just having few of them (3 a year). What do the rest of you think?

edit: There would be a poll here but im retarded so just post it in the comments, thanks.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diogo
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 16:29:29

    4 times per year lasting 15 days

    Reply

  2. Jake
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 17:10:08

    Every other month for 2 weeks seems reasonable.

    The problem with it lasting a month is it makes it into some sort of endurance run and I end up doing like no reading at all the next month cause I am mentally exausted by it.

    Reply

  3. jimjamjeniko
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 18:08:17

    2 weeks every couple of months?

    I do think it’s a good idea to cut down on the amount of time. A month of it is a bit too much, especially if you’re being insanely competitive (like I was in the first round, hehe).

    I don’t know how workable this is, but I wonder if it might be a good idea to introduce official targets? So at the end, instead of just making a list of who read the most, it would be possible to congratulate everyone who passed their target. Because as it is, only the advanced learners who can rip through a few hundred pages a day, or the people who have enough time to commit to it that much have a chance of getting into the roundup posts at the end. I realise that doing that would be a LOT of hassle for you though… just a thought!

    Reply

  4. Kanjiguy
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 18:58:56

    3 month long tadoku every 4 months wouldn’t be bad, but if you change it you need to wipe the old stats and start fresh, or maybe you should wipe it every year.

    Reply

  5. sloppie
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 19:01:12

    I think 4 times/year is good, but if it’s too much for you, lordsilent, to prepare/maintain/report and everything, 1-3 times would be OK. 🙂

    Reply

  6. burritolingus
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 20:22:26

    I’ll be honest, those month-long marathons come with a dangerous amount of mental exhaustion and burn-out, for me. Part of this could probably be solved by me, you know, not pushing myself so hard, but y’know how it goes. To me, tadoku is almost sort of a religious pilgrimage that I feel obligated to participate in with my fullest effort. But dear god, can it wipe me out.

    However, I don’t think abolishing the month-long tadoku is the answer, either. Nor do I think adding smaller tadoku-sessions in between the month-long ones is the answer (three months out of the year is already a hell of a long time, let’s be honest).

    Here’s an idea, which may or may not be feasible, but could conceivably be flexible around the traditionally busy/lazy times of the year: a series of week-long and two-week long sessions, ultimately leading up to the big mutha daddy month-long one. Ideally, in total, all of these tadoku sessions combined would equal roughly three months, so perhaps somethng like: Four week-longs, two two-week longs, and the Big Mutha month-long. So as an example of how this might work out (ignoring aforementioned busy/lazy times for the sake of brevity):

    January 1st through 7th: Week
    February 1st through 7th: Week
    March 1st through 7th: Week
    April 1st through 7th: Week

    June 1st through 14th: Two-Week
    August 1st through 14th: Two-Week

    October 1st through 31st: Entire Month

    A few months skipped here and there for arbitrary reasons, but you get the idea (´・ω・`) This particular example still leaves a gap, which can be solved with some scheduling magic or perhaps throwing in another one or two-week session (or just leaving the gap).

    So again, I’m not sure how feasible such a system would be, but I do think having at least a few shorter, preferably more frequent tadoku would be a good thing indeed.

    Reply

  7. Lan'dorien
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 22:01:23

    I kind of like the six two-week happenings. But the way it is is fine too.

    I like the target idea. Like bracket racing. It evens things out. Don’t know how easy it would be to implement though, in this system. Then again as it is I usually pick a target and try to keep ahead of them, aside from just competing against my own last round score.

    Reply

  8. Tavon Gatling (@jyemenai)
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 22:53:06

    Yea, as you can tell, the last Tadoku I barely participated. I was entirely too burned out from the previous onces; a month can be entirely too long. Shorter periods, like the aforementioned six two-week Tadokus or maybe, sounds interesting and more manageable. It’s going to be a bit more hectic, but it’ll be a nice change of pace.

    Reply

  9. JPP4
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 12:57:08

    I personally like the present schedule because it has got me back into reading books, something I hadn’t done for years. 3 weeks might be better for those of us that go from Tadoku straight into the 6WC (6 week challenge) organised by Junesun, and have therefore no break in between the 2 contests. But since this is reading only, and the other is general, with, in my case, a lot of listening, it is not too strenuous.

    I do agree with jimjamjeniko about the unfairness of the contest. But whatever the schedule, the contest is always going to be unfair as far the top spots are concerned. Just like life isn’t all that fair for all either! Maybe some of us should be handicapped, but how would you implement that?
    I do have a lot of free time, and I read in 3 languages: one at advanced level (no sweat), one at now high intermediate (Russian, not too exhausting but not over-fast yet) and one at lower intermediate (Japanese, laboured). I can therefore compete at the higher level. If I had to read only in Japanese I’d just compete against myself and others at my level, forget about in place on the podium. Who cares anyway? It’s all about: read, read, read, as much as you can, at your level, and try to catch up on the runner just in front of you. Well done anyone who’s just done a little better than last time, or than at the beginning of the challenge. One week long challenges are not going to get us anywhere, too short, and 2 week long ones aren’t much better. As far as I’m concerned, 3 weeks is a minimum, but one month is best. To get results. No one should get burn out anyway as it’s just about reading for comprehension, passive stuff, not actively wearing oneself out doing chores.
    Thank you lordsilent for organizing this, whichever way you’re going to do it next. It’s much appreciated.

    Reply

  10. Jake
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 20:57:27

    I propose you use the January(and March to test the spacing?) tadoku as just a trial for the 2 week sessions. Afterwords take a poll of all the participants to see which method is prefered.
    Even if this is voted against, just do another 3 full months the rest of the year(May/Aug/Nov?) and no tadoku time is actually lost.

    Reply

  11. Seizar
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 09:55:00

    Making the rounds shorter would probably encourage people to give it their best for that short period of time, but I somewhat doubt it would help in finding a sustainable pace that allows them to keep reading outside of the contest. It’s more about building an habit than about the number of pages we cram in X days, right? I think a month works just fine in this respect, can’t really go full force for 30 days straight, you get to know your limits and learn to plan around things.
    Things like official targets and maybe bonuses for not straying too far from your current daily average could probably help in smoothing the competitive edge of the contest a bit and avoid some burnouts, but I’d be wary of making things too complicated, a reading contest should be about reading after all =p

    Reply

  12. Harvey (@JapanNewbie)
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 04:47:38

    I think a 2-week run sounds like a good idea! I think that would help my piss poor performance. More focused!

    Reply

  13. zombiecide. (@hanikamiya)
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 17:06:45

    With work and school (and the ambition to leave latter with straight As) I don’t have the time nor stamina to read a lot in my weaker languages for an entire month. Two weeks every second month sound more manageable to me, especially as that would allow me to concentrate on the other key skills for two weeks each before the next round starts. (Other than Seizar I don’t use Tadoku to build a habit as it’s too competitive for me to do so, I use it for high intensity practice.)

    Reply

  14. JPP4
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 09:11:13

    As these comments show, it’s always a mistake asking people what they want. It’s your Tadoku, you do it your way, the way that suits YOU! If some people don’t like it, they don’t have to do it. You’ll still get lots of participants.
    Now if a month is too much for some, well then, why don’t they just read for as long as they can without losing motivation or getting burnout . Nobody is forced to do anything, reading is for those who want to read, read more or read better.
    I basically don’t care how many weeks in succession, but NOT every 2 months. Junesun organises a 6 week challenge (general, not just reading) to fit in with a Tadoku taking place every 3 months. Some of us do both, so if you change the frequency we won’t be able to participate. Which would be a shame. At least for us.

    Reply

  15. Christine Joseph (@chmijo)
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 20:19:49

    4 times a year actually works pretty well… gives me something to look forward. Any more would really burn me out. ~_~ But heck, I’m open to anything. It’s your show — you’re devoting the time to put this all together, so if I were you, I’d base it mostly on what I can do to make it most effective without putting yourself out. 😀 I just like that this contest even exists….

    Reply

  16. IceCream
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 02:11:24

    oh, i missed this…

    yeah, i’m all for 2 weeks every 6 weeks, it’d be much less of a burn out, and also not as long between challenges so there’s not as long between them for my reading speed to drop back off significantly again.

    I’m looking forward to it, hope i can take part in all of them this year. Thanks for running it!!!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

