The Return of Tadoku

That’s right, we’re officially back and the register is now open but before you run off to tweet at the bot there are a few changes you should know about.

You can use the application for all the things you would use the bot for however currently the undo function in the app is disabled

  • The contest starts on Jan 01, 2013 00:00:00 your time (timer lies) and ends Jan 31, 2013 11:59:59, your time
  • Before registering make sure the timezone in your twitter account is set, you won’t be able to register without it.
  • I thought I had more points but I’ve been up for far too long.
  • Enjoy tadoku!

If you have any questions you can post here, message me @lordsilent on twitter, or contact me in the irc channel at irc.rizon.net #ajatt (Japanese learners encouraged to join!).

Now if you’ll excuse me I’m going to crash.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Serpent
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 06:14:22

    What if I’m in a different timezone on the day Tadoku ends?

    Reply

    • readmod
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 06:25:23

      You should plan ahead if you are traveling. At most you miss a day.

      Reply

      • Serpent
        Dec 31, 2012 @ 06:31:16

        in what way should i plan ahead? it’s just one hour’s difference, but my midnight will be one hour later than in my current timezone.
        shall i temporarily change my timezone on twitter for the one i’ll be in when the challenge ends? will i be able to submit my updates a couple of mins AFTER midnight? (in order to actually read more rather than spending the last minutes of the challenge posting updates)

  2. Serpent
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 06:28:00

    I’m not going to register with it this time, but just a heads up: Spanish isn’t on the list.

    Reply

  3. Serpent
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 06:32:23

    on the last day i mean. i totally don’t mind waiting until 1am to submit my FIRST update, i’m not even sure i’ll read anything before that:D

    Reply

    • readmod
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 06:34:40

      The app would block you since timezones are stored when you signin the first time but the bot would let you update since it reads your time zone information when you update.

      Reply

  4. Cristina Kvernsveen (@CristinaNorway)
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 07:33:15

    Is there a B1 maximum requirement for the languages you register with? I seem to remember there was one before?

    Also I am unable to register even though I have defined my time zone. Any suggestions?

    Cristina

    Reply

    • readmod
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 07:57:53

      There was no requirement on the reading languages. All the data in your account looks fine, there is a possibility that the timezone wasn’t there at first (twitter automatically sets it for you when you look) so give it another try. If that doesn’t work I’ll see if I can get you straight when I come out of my coma.

      Reply

  5. むらマサミュン (@mouniren_)
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:25:52

    Fuckin’ right.

    Reply

  6. Serpent
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 18:48:57

    THANK YOU for getting the data back! i thought i needed to register again and i tried to do that, but i didn’t have the heart to list German. This would’ve been a tough test haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

